Clear all

Seeking input on 2nd guitar

14 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@stacktrayce)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Greetings players! I just started playing in April and am really enjoying myself. I have been reading a great deal and would like to get some advice/input on a decent second guitar in the ~$500 range. I am currently playing an Ibanez GAX30 (dual HBs) that was stored poorly and needed a great deal of setup/adjustment to be playable, it still has some issues such as the low E string being a bit higher than the others which can be a pain. Now that I am committed to the guitar I am looking for something a bit nicer to buy in a few months and I very much enjoy reading/research. I played a friend's strat plus and it felt and played SO much nicer than my guitar. I also played some custom strat-type thing that was even better. I have been trying different guitars at a local shop and at Guitar Center and believe I have found a preference for thicker/fatter necks. That is, the thickness between thumb and index finger, I am still uncertain about "width at the nut" preference. I believe I would like something a bit wider than what I am currently using. I played some Epiphone LPs that felt nice and a Gibson SG whose neck felt great. One of the things I liked about that one is that the finish on the neck on the thumb side was rough, not smooth. I don't know how easily changeable that is and I don't see many necks like that.