Forum

Notifications
Clear all

Self Taught

Page 1 / 3

(@ness-k)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Are there any self taught guitarists out there? Everything I know on the guitar i studied and taught my self without anyone literally showing me how to do it or without lessons!

"The Beauty of Music is my Sanity. Without it, I would simply lose my gravity, and blow away with the breeze." - Ness K(Aka Matt Harris)

(@blueline)
Noble Member

Ness, I would estimate about 95% (or more) of the people on GN are self taught. Its a wonderfull thing eh?

Teamwork- A few harmless flakes working together can unleash an avalanche of destruction.

ReplyQuote
(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

I had six months of lessons and forty two years of playing (self taught).

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=644552
http://www.soundclick.com/couleerockinvaders

ReplyQuote
(@kent_eh)
Noble Member

Mostly self taught (2.5-3 years), although I did do a set of 4 group lessons last summer.

I probably would have got a lot more out of them if I had not been doing 20+ hours/week overtime at the same time (no time to practice between lessons, was late for one of the lessons...) :?

Maybe sometime I'll try lessons again, but I seem to have less "hobby time" available to me now than at any time in my life. :(

I wrapped a newspaper ’round my head
So I looked like I was deep

ReplyQuote
(@blueline)
Noble Member

Come to think of it...I had a few lessons. Each time I saw Joe Satriani, Steve Vai, Frank Zappa, Jimmy Page, Alex Lifeson, John Petrucci,Eric Johnson,SRV,...was a lesson. I learned I'll never be that good!!

Teamwork- A few harmless flakes working together can unleash an avalanche of destruction.

ReplyQuote
(@xylembassguitar)
Trusted Member

Can any of us really say we're 100% self-taught? I am "self-taught", but a lot of my breakthroughs came from reading, watching and listening.