Skip to content
Notifications
Clear all

Self Taught

43 Posts
24 Users
0 Likes
(@chasing_time)

I think what you call it is self taugh, my teacher only took my classes at weekends so other 5 days were full of practice

" Stalking is a sign of desperateness, a psychological problem hence a disease."

ReplyQuote
(@chris-c)
Famed Member

I've noticed over the years, though, that things I've had to work out for myself - the barres, the powerchords, transposition, etc - tend to stick in the memory longer than things I've been shown, or taught. And of course there's always the "smug git" factor - nothing more satisfying than nailing something you've been struggling with, especially if you can say "All my own work!"

:D :D :D

Vic

That's exactly right. :D

There's a saying that goes something like this:

• Tell me and I'll forget

Show me and I'll understand

But get me to do it and I'll both understand and remember

• Maybe there should be a fourth line saying" Work it out for myself and it will be with me for ever

I love working things out for myself. It's almost a passion. The only downside is that you can sometimes be left with a nagging suspicion that you might have missed something. Perhaps I stumbled on something that works, and then stopped looking - thereby missing something else that works even better?? So I like to also gather information later from other sources, just to check whether my 'discoveries' matched those of others, and then hoover up any mssing bits. :)

Cheers,

Chris

ReplyQuote
    (@almann1979)
    Noble Member

well i aint no decent guitarist but i am a teacher and believe me, these 16 yr old kids who cant be bothered with science soon progress and gain motivation if i can help them work things out for themselves. i dont think it is just music, figuring things out yourself definately sticks all things in that long term memory!

unfortunately for me, when i try to figure music theory for myself i just get confused - i hate the irony :lol: