Notifications
Clear all

Self Taught

43 Posts
24 Users
0 Likes
(@vic-lewis-vl)
Illustrious Member

Maybe "self-made guitarist" would be a better tag than self-taught - I doubt there's a single person registered on this forum who's worked out EVERYTHING he/she knows from first principles. Self taught implies that - whereas self-made implies that, yes, the guitarist has had a little help along the way, but has put a lot of hard work, learning and practise into his/her playing. I'd consider myself "self-made" - yes, I've learned a lot from watching and listening to other guitarists, and asking questions, and watching videos, etc, etc....but there's only one person ever pushed me to put the hours in and practise.

And that's me, and I'm a bloody slavedriver, and I'm STILL trying to get better!

:D :D :D

Vic the self-made guitarist....whether that's a good or bad thing isn't for me to say!

"Sometimes the beauty of music can help us all find strength to deal with all the curves life can throw us." (D. Hodge.)

ReplyQuote
(@minotaur)
Noble Member

I had a Q:

Today you can get good guitar learning DVDs for almost all styles (classical, rock, flamenco)

Will you call learning from a DVD being self taught ?

That's a good question, because I've picked up more from Youtube videos, and lessons here and other websites (I haven't gotten into dvds yet :twisted: ) than I did in lessons. And I'm pretty happy with that. So when I go back to lessons, I'll know why I'm doing something, and be able to apply it to other things. Learning, imo, has a multi-faceted approach.

It is difficult to answer when one does not understand the question.

ReplyQuote
 cnev
(@cnev)
Famed Member

Vic,

I think that was my whole point. I don't see the point in making a statement that you are self-taught or self made or anything else. Like I said you play guitar how you got there is irrelevant.