Clear all

Self taught

10 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@ldavis04)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

Just wondering what your thoughts are on the topic of being "self taught"?

My thought is that one learn's an instrument outside of a accredited, formal school of music and that your self motivated, even if taking lessons from a professional teacher. What do you think?

I may grow old, but I'll never grow up.

(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

if a person has never played an instrument I would say get a few lessons.
with a basic understanding of how the instrument works and can be played iswell worth it.
from there you will be able to move confidently forward.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=644552
http://www.soundclick.com/couleerockinvaders

ReplyQuote
(@ldavis04)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

Just wondering what your thoughts are on the topic of being "self taught"?

My thought is that one learn's an instrument outside of a accredited, formal school of music and that your self motivated, even if taking lessons from a professional teacher. What do you think?

What are your thoughts on the *definition" of the term "self taught"?

ReplyQuote
(@scrogdog)
Estimable Member

I think that this is less a question of what is good for everyone and more of a question of what works for you.

Music is somewhat like math and you need to understand the nature of it. Some folks are very intuitive with math and music and need little in the way of instruction from a pro to truly "get it".

I am not one of those... unfortunately.

Of course, one's approach might be different if he or she aspires to be a pro themselves… in some fashion. If you just play for enjoyment, then it may be less important to you to understand music theory than it is to bring a few smiles at a cookout with some well-practiced hummin' and strummin'. :)

ReplyQuote
(@ignar-hillstrom)
Illustrious Member