Clear all

Some bands you just can't get into.....

151 Posts
39 Users
0 Likes
13.5 K Views
(@gnease)
Illustrious Member

How 'bout a reductionist view: emo = whiney (and punkish).

-=tension & release=-

ReplyQuote
(@jwmartin)
Noble Member

...ready?....Lyle Lovett.

I love Lyle Lovett. His Live in Texas album is incredible. "If I Had a Boat" is one of my all time favorite songs.

On Vai, I've always preferred him to Satch because he is more unstructured. Joe can play some awesome stuff, but he does tend to have a standard song structure that sounds like a "regular" vocal song w/ the verse/chorus/verse/chorus/solo/verse/chorus pattern. I'm not saying that's a bad thing, it just gets a little boring after a while. Vai has some stuff like that, but he'll throw in a lot of other stuff as well.

As a caveat, I haven't listened to much new stuff by either one. I've found that I don't enjoy listening to them as much since I started playing guitar. Before, I had no idea how that kind of stuff was played and I loved it. Now, I understand fundamentally how, but know that I'll never reach that level.

Bass player for Undercover

ReplyQuote
(@blueline)
Noble Member

Ah...a fellow Snobolutionist. :wink:

Yeah, the first time I saw Vai was like a religous experience. Same with Satch too.

My fav Lyle Lovett song...Hmmmm.. I'd have to say either Good Intentions - "She was never good but she had good intentions" or Which Way Does That Old Pony Run. "...I was a cowboy, the best in the land. The she settled me down with a touch of her hand..." The guy has great lyrics.

Teamwork- A few harmless flakes working together can unleash an avalanche of destruction.

ReplyQuote
(@gnease)
Illustrious Member

Lovett has more than just great lyrics: great tunesmith, guitar player, story teller and performer. Last time I saw him was on tour with John Hiatt, Joe Ely and Guy Clark. As much as I love the other three's music -- esp. Hiatt, Lovett was the understated, but true master on that stage.