Clear all

this one goes to eleven

10 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

"he was so bad we had to apologise for him, people were still booing while we were playing"

hilarious.

i just got back from a gig and decided to wind down by watching "this is spinal tap" on the sky plus. I have never seen it before but there are some great lines in this film.

was this a spoof done by a real band? or did any real music come from this film? were the actors actually musicians?

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

(@jwmartin)
Noble Member

Excellent movie!

The musicians in the movie are actors, but they actually played their own instruments. They've gone on tour many times. Also check out "The Mighty Wind", where they make fun of folk music. Not music related, but "Best in Show" is by the same crew and is a hilarious movie about dog shows.

Bass player for Undercover

ReplyQuote
(@trguitar)
Famed Member

One of my favorite all time movies ... I own the DVD. I believe it was recorded in doubly. :P Yes, a made up band but the actors are pretty good musicians and there was a sound track album from the movie and they released a CD back around 1990 called Break Like the Wind. There latest work is called Back From the Dead. Check out their web site.

"Work hard, rock hard, eat hard, sleep hard,
grow big, wear glasses if you need 'em."
-- The Webb Wilder Credo --

ReplyQuote
(@blue-jay)
Noble Member

Spinal Tap was a great spoof group, I enjoyed them.

Don't know where their name came from, besides health & medicine, but it spawned a few radio shows called Vinyl Tap.

And kudos to local celeb Paul Shaffer in their movie http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/This_Is_Spinal_Tap , very good show.

Like a bird on the wire,
like a drunk in a midnight choir
I have tried in my way to be free.

ReplyQuote
(@danlasley)
Noble Member