Clear all

Versatility

8 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@brian-f)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

What would you suggest as a very versatile elec guitar?

I'm an acoustic player that is on the prowl for an electric. I've got a voxAD30 VT modeling amp that offers some versatility in tone, but I am looking for a very versatile electric in that it will probably be the only one i own. I will want to play classic rock, newer rock (eg. foo fighters, STP), blues, and country. I'm an electric newb, so bear with me...

I was thinking tele, with maybe some modding options like a p90 in the neck, or something else. Maybe a Nashville Tele, but where would I get some crunch?

Was also thinking maybe an es-335 style semi-hollow, possibly coil tapping one or both humbuckers?

What would you electric players suggest as a very versatile rig?

I think the tele option is probably more aligned with my budget ($600-700ish). I also think I'd prefer to buy something used that will maintain value, so if I run across my dream acoustic, I can offload the electric and replace it later.

Thanks!
B

(@gnease)
Illustrious Member

Pretty much same advice as given here before: versatile = Fat Strat ('bucker in bridge position). Teles also are very versatile, though you are correct, a P90 or (mini) 'bucker in the neck position will make it more so. 335 has the rep as versatile; but only because it it does not really have a very distinct distinct voice of its own. It's a good, but somewhat generic humbucker. Tapping the 335's 'buckers for single coil sounds is really a half-measure. I think you'd be better off with the Tele or Strat suggested above for single and 'bucker sounds.

Above all, get a guitar you enjoy playing -- otherwise it won't sound like much of anything!

-=tension & release=-

ReplyQuote
(@scrybe)
Famed Member