Clear all

whats the differance?

9 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@hobozcar2000)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

So I'm very new to playing guitar and have an acoustic at the moment. When I finally decide that I'm ready I'm going to buy an electric. I love the look of the Fender Strat. but the pricing is crazy. So the question is why is one $399 and the next one up that looks exactly the same $949? Can someone tell me what the big differance is?

Here are the links for the two: http://www.guitarcenter.com/shop/product/buy_fender_american_stratocaster_electric_guitar?full_sku=101020642
http://www.guitarcenter.com/shop/product/buy_fender_standard_stratocaster_electric_guitar?full_sku=103576708

(@twistedlefty)
Famed Member

Hardware, materials, Quality Control. Labor cost to manufacture.
More expensive= usually made in the USA, not always better quality tho.

#4491....

ReplyQuote
(@hobozcar2000)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

what do you think is the most "bang for your buck"?

ReplyQuote
(@daniel-lioneye)
Reputable Member

not always better quality tho.

That's very true. Go to a few different stores and try out the MIM(made in mexico) strats, if you find a good one, then you can save a lot of $$$.

As far as the most bang for your buck, the MIM strats should be what your're looking for.

Guitars: Electric: Jackson DX10D, J. Reynolds Fat Strat copy
Acoustic: New York and a Jasmine.
Amps: Austin 15 watt, Fender Deluxe 112, Fender Champion 600 5w, 0ld 1970's Sears 500g.
Effects: Digitech Whammy, Big Muff Pi USA, MXR, Washburn Distortion.

ReplyQuote
(@twistedlefty)
Famed Member

"Bang for your Buck" means something different if you're older and have been putting off getting what you've always wanted for several decades.

having said that, the common turn of the phrase usually goes to getting the most for your money.
if you are a Fender fan, you can't go wrong with a MIM, i would really look them over in person first tho.