Skip to content
Which foot do you u...

Notifications
Clear all

Which foot do you use for tapping out rhythm?

26 Posts
21 Users
0 Likes
(@hyperborea)
Prominent Member
Topic starter  

After reading the handedness thread that is going on I was watching my playing a little more closely and I noticed that I mainly tap out rhythm with my left foot (I'm left handed and play right handed). I've started trying to tap more with my right foot and I wonder if it will help my strumming and picking to have the side of my body that does that also tap out the rhythm. Any thoughts on this?

Pop music is about stealing pocket money from children. - Ian Anderson

(@almann1979)
Noble Member

good question - it will be interesting to see the results. my vote is cast.

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

ReplyQuote
(@minotaur)
Noble Member

Right handed, play right handed, tap with right foot. That is, strum or pick with right hand, fret with left, tap with right foot.

It is difficult to answer when one does not understand the question.

ReplyQuote
(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

Other - right handed, play right handed. Tap with... it depends.

Most pieces, my right foot. But if the right hand part is very syncopated, I'll sometimes use my left. If it's a funky groove, I'll sometimes use both (R on 1 & 3, L on 2 & 4). And if the tempo is fast (190ish on up) I don't tap - it gets my foot too tired :)

Guitar teacher offering lessons in Plainfield IL

ReplyQuote
(@elecktrablue)
Famed Member

I'm all right! :D I'm right handed, play right handed and tap right footed. :D

..· ´¨¨)) -:¦:-
¸.·´ .·´¨¨))
((¸¸.·´ .·´
-:¦:- ((¸¸.·´ -:¦:- Elecktrablue -:¦:-

"Don't wanna ride no shootin' star. Just wanna play on the rhythm guitar." Emmylou Harris, "Rhythm Guitar" from "The Ballad of Sally Rose"

ReplyQuote
(@pear-tart)
Eminent Member