Notifications
Clear all

Which guitar should I settle on?

26 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@kill9)
Topic starter  

Hi, I'm a beginner, left handed who is interested in playing a great range of rock. Almost everything literally, Pink Floyd, Pantera, Megadeth and Classic Rock.

I've settled between two guitars:

http://www.guitarcenter.com/Fender-Standard-Stratocaster-Left-Handed-Electric-Guitar-501159-i1431993.gc

and

http://www.guitarcenter.com/Fender-American-Standard-Stratocaster-Left-Handed-Electric-Guitar-761588-i1385916.gc

The consumer in me thinks $$$more is better but what do you think?

(@staffan)
Estimable Member

If you´re a complete beginner, then maybe you should settle for a less expensive electric - just to play around with for a year or two and see if you really like playing guitar. There´s lots of good Stratocaster-models out there, with another brand than Fender. I think the Squier has some good priced beginner guitars, and also the Vintage-brand gives you real value (and quality) for a much less price.

Although - if you´re confident you´ll be playing for some years to come, then my suggestion would be to go to a guitar shop and try the different models out. Come to think of it; that´s what you should do regardless of which price-range you´re looking for. :)

What feels good to me might not be the thing for you, so it´s really hard to advice in this matter. It´s what you like that matters.

Sorry I coultn´d be of any real help :roll: and good luck!

AAAFNRAA
- Electric Don Quixote -

ReplyQuote
(@blue-jay)
Noble Member

I second that.

As a beginner, perhaps you should get your hands around several guitars, and find one that is comfortable, and has the feel and style that you want.

I can see that you like the very stylish guitars already, and what you are going for. The second guitar has a wider flatter fretboard, FWIW, and is quite costly.