19 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
21.3 K Views
(@apache)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

Hi,
I read on one of the blog posts here, that you shouldn't use Ernie Ball Slinky strings with a Floyd Rose, is this correct?

If so which strings are good with the floyd rose?

I had swapped my power slinky for the super slinky which are a lighter gauge due to the dire warnings in the handbook about only using certain gauge strings.. Which was of course before I'd read about not using the slinky strings...

Thanks

(@scrybe)
Famed Member

Caveat - I have never owned a guitar with a Floyd Rose trem, so I have limited knowledge, but....

Ernie Ball strings will be absolutely fine. The only problem is the actual ball-end of the string, which is present on all electric guitar strings (okay, so Fender Bullets have a bullet in place of the ball-end, but you'd have to snip that off, too). You should snip that off with a pair of pliers. Standard practice amongst people I know personally tends to be: string the guitar so the ball-end is at the headstock end of the guitar, then snip the excess string-length plus the ball-end from there.

The only major thing with Floyd Rose bridges, aside from snipping off the ball-end is, as you mentioned, not to use heavy gauge strings. I think the standard for Floyd Rose bridges is 9. 10s should be okay, but anything higher than this may cause problems.

Ra Er Ga.

Ninjazz have SuperChops.

http://www.blipfoto.com/Scrybe

ReplyQuote
(@apache)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

Thanks Scrybe, I'm very pleased to hear that, as I've got 4 packs in (having snapped 2 strings in my first attempt at restringing it I decided bulk buy was the only option!)

Also putting the ball end at the top and snipping with the excess is a very good idea too - will def do that :-)

ReplyQuote
(@katmetal)
Prominent Member