WHY play guitar? Really..

35 Posts
14 Users
0 Likes
(@robparis)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

I am a guitarist and a guitar teacher, I always ask students:

"Why do you want to play the guitar? What's the reason for you? What is your 'guitar dream'?"

And by asking those questions I know more about how and what to teach, but the
most important thing here is that those questions makes the person think about WHY even play the guitar?
and always it triggers them coz they have damn good reasons! :)

Now I want to ask you:
Why did you start play the guitar?
What motivates you to keep on playing?
What would be your vision/ "guitar dream"?

Share your reasons and dreams, don't be shy, for example;
MANY boys start to play to get more girls, right? haha
and thats not a bad reason, whatever it is, its good you started,
and it will be fun if you want to share Your reasons!

Check out my new guitar blogg! (click below)

http://www.guitarbeyondreason.com/
Its only rock n roll but I like it!

(@s1120)
Prominent Member

Why?? Well I like, and need some form of creative outlet. Making music is a emotanal release for me. Getting thoughts, and feelings out. Why Guitar, over any other insterment? Cant tell you that one... I just love how stringed insterments can be used in so many ways, and styles.... and the guitar, becouse there is a lot of information out on learning. I enjoy most stringed insterments, and given enough time on this earth, I will learn to play others...

The Motivateing is my main issue... I find it hard to push through those times you realy cant get yourself to pick it up.... Times you have been discuraged, and get PO'ed at your lack of progress... Now as im getting older, its time to just do things... Too many regrets from the past that cant come back, so its time to buck up and do what I need to do!! Plus I am pregressing well the last year, and want to keep moving foward.