Clear all

Your favourite rhythm player and why

13 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

It is only just dawning on me how great some rhythm guitar players are. I am ashamed to say that I used to have a misconception that rhythm guitarists only played rhythm because they couldn't do lead, but now I understand that rhythm guitar parts can demand as much if not more skill and musical theory as lead, and one should not be considered to be better than the other.

So I thought I would ask who your favourite rhythm players are and why.

Me, I quite like Steve craddocks work with ocean colour scene. He often changes his style of rhythm playing within a song, which really keeps me hooked on listening. I will try to find a link to highlight what I mean.

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

(@musenfreund)
Illustrious Member

John Lennon -- as he himself said, he knew how to drive a band. And what a band!

Well we all shine on--like the moon and the stars and the sun.
-- John Lennon

ReplyQuote
(@vic-lewis-vl)
Illustrious Member

Keef. Once he gets into his stride and starts hitting those signature riffs, he could make a concrete statue of Oliver Cromwell dance with wild abandon!

:D :D :D

Vic

"Sometimes the beauty of music can help us all find strength to deal with all the curves life can throw us." (D. Hodge.)

ReplyQuote
(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member

page's riffs/rhythm work stand up to anyone.

ReplyQuote
(@minus_human)
Reputable Member

For me it will always be James Hetfield. I think he's really good.But I saw the recent Big 4 Concert and have to add Dave Mustaine to that list.
Mustaine to me seems to be allot more technically correct where James seems to feel the song and vibe more..

i'm waxing on here..trutfully i know nothing i just like the way it sounds when the guy plays :D