12 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
17 K Views
(@rcsnydley1)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Hi all,
Has anyone tried any of Dan Denley's courses, i.e. amazing lead guitar, amazing acoustic guitar, his new chords course, etc.
I have seen the free vids and they look pretty good, but I am new to this type of instruction. I certainly do not want to spend the money on something that is just hype or a way for someone to make a buck.
Thanks for the input.

I originally put this in the wrong topic, so I moved it here.

Ric

"I've got blisters on my fingers." - Ringo Starr

(@rgalvez)
Prominent Member

HI
I bought his first course (Amazing Guitar Secrets) a couple of years ago thanks to some advertising from Paul here :))
It clarified many doubts I agree and I admit he's a good teacher and quite charismatic. My personal criticism is that he covers too many subjects without developing them , for instance the modes: he explains the fingering of the modes and that's all ! (you have to figure out when to use them in a musical context ) . In this particular case this course gave me a good overview on how to learn the guitar (he teaches scales, basic chords, technique such as hammer on,pull-offs,some reading , etc), but for its price (all these courses are really pricey) I think you should really invest in books or DVD's that cover specific skills: for instance do you want to learn about the blues? forget about the US$100+ expensive course and get 'Blues You Can Use'. Want to practice lead? Check out Troy Stetina's books.Want to learn Chords and reading stuff? Mel Bay or William Leavitt. and of course you should read the tons of valuable info in Guitarnouse' lessons and in the Theory forum.
Finally something that I didn't like about Dan's course is that, as a bonus gift, he promised a full VIP coaching for his students when you purchase the courses...but in my case I only received spare massive emails and when I had a question or doubt he never replied to me.