Fretboard Theory Reviews?

25 Posts
17 Users
0 Likes
34.2 K Views
(@bford)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

Does anyone have a review of "Fretboard Theory" by Desi Serna?

Thanks in advance.

Treat others how you would like to be treated.

(@john-the-savage)

Hey bford,

Don't know if you're still waiting on someone to reply to this post, but I can in fact comment on the book in question: I'm a touring musician for living and I bought this book last year for a friend – he's a hobby-guitarist – who had asked me to explain the theory behind some of the songs and solos he had already picked up by ear. Well…I'm lazy and busy (a bad combination – smirk) so I set out to find a book that would outline the basics for him; I settled on “Fretboard Theory”.

I certainly haven't forgotten the frustration and confusion that can result from poorly taught theory…so I was careful to find something straight-forward and well-written.

You really can't go wrong with this book if you're a beginner or intermediate player; you don't have to read music to get started with it; the lessons are coherent and concise, and you'll learn only what you need to know as you go, without over-whelming references to advanced theory that doesn't apply at your level. Desi seems to teach modestly, using clear fretboard diagrams and “tab”, as well as referring you to classic and contemporary song standards that exemplify each lesson's content.

Like any book on music, it's not a miracle cure for a lack of discipline or the utterly tone-def among us (smirk), but if you have any musical inclination whatsoever, it'll give you a solid start (grin). Cheers!

-JTS-

ReplyQuote
(@bigalfrom-philly)

It's an excellent academic book. I'll take it a step further, I did not know the significance of learning scales (pentatonic, major, and the accompanying chromatic scales). Desi advocates the importance of learning (covering songs..right?) well, I've taken it so much further. :wink: