Clear all

Fingerpicking and singing

9 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
 verc
(@verc)
Topic starter  

I'm new at this so pardon if I make a mis-statement, but I know our voices sound different in our heads than they actually come out.

I've noticed that what I think is a high E in my head is actually about a G. (?)

So anyways I'm fingerpicking songs like Hey Jude, In My Life, Jet Plane etc. and having a real hell of a time - I'm singing higher in my head to compensate for what it actually sounds like when I record into a mic... but the guitar picking is really throwing me off - it skews my voices downwards.

I guess practice practice practice, but wondering if any of you guys had opinion and thoughts. I can sing while strumming chords, but for some reason it's like because the fingerpicking is note for note that screws me up.

(@fretsource)
Prominent Member

I'm new at this so pardon if I make a mis-statement, but I know our voices sound different in our heads than they actually come out.

Welcome to the forum, Verc. I'm sorry I can't offer anything more useful than 'welcome' as your problem isn't one that I'm familiar with. It's true that the voice in our head is different to what comes out, but not normally in the way that you describe. The voice in my head sounds exactly the same as the voice that comes out - at least as far as pitch is concerned. Tonewise, it's a different thing, though. The voice in my head sounds like a cross between Bruce Sprigsteen and Frank Sinatra, whereas the one that comes out sounds more like a cross between Kermit the frog and Miss Piggy. But pitchwise it's fine.
I can even say that I've never met anyone with your problem (although I've met plenty with mine :lol: )
I would suggest practising playing major scales slowly and trying to match the pitch, note by note, but that may be no help at all if your problem has a physiological cause, in which case some professional advice would be worth seeking out.

ReplyQuote
(@coleclark)
Honorable Member