11 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
jkeel546
(@jkeel546)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Hi,

I'm working on my first folk rock/singer-songwriter EP this summer. I've been playing guitar for about 1 1/2 years now. I've never had singing lessons, but my sister has, and she has helped me with some things. I'd just like to know what you all think about my voice and how I've done for this song. Lyric/guitar/vocals are all me. :)

http://www.joshuakeel.com/01-Transfusion.mp3

Josh Keel

Check these guys out - Tree63 http://www.tree63.com

ligyron
(@ligyron)

I'm no expect by any means, but you have a unique voice and that's good enough for me

ReplyQuote
coleclark
(@coleclark)
Honorable Member

im typing while listening...

little wobble on the low notes near the start
goes a little flat on the long notes (cant blame you for that :P )
a bass would make all the difference in this song
didnt go flat on the long notes this time
did you record the guitar and vocals separatly? timing doesnt quite line up when the single strums come in...well...it doesnt line up for 'normal pop' if your going with something a little different then i guess it works with the song alrite

whats the tranfusion of... ?

well it just finished...

it sounds good, easily listenable to, its not like any bad notes stand out and grab your attention, a female voice singing words during your long notes maybe the second time they come in could sound good (i know this isnt a mastered version im just giving what id think could grab the attention a bit more)
vocals sound pretty good (better than me :P ) and the song is quite well written.

well done for spending the time recording it all decently

*thumbs up*

ReplyQuote
jkeel546
(@jkeel546)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Thanks for the responses, guys. :)

ligyron,
I never thought of my voice as unique. Interesting that you say that. :)

coleclark,