Clear all

i can't play while singing

5 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@whitelightning)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I am a guitarist, but i can also sing, with some of m,y songs it is hard for me too consentrate on hitting the right notes, but i want to be able sing while i am playing, so that i don't need to get a forth member to my band. :twisted: any help one this would be nice :D

the most influential guitarist to my style is Tom Merello.

(@jersey-jack)
Estimable Member

There's not much to suggest, really, beyond lots of practice. It clicks at a certain point, and then you'll have trouble only during specific passages in certain songs, which may require a few run-throughs before they feel right.

The only thing I can say is to focus on small chunks of songs--when you hit a rough spot, stop and go over the measure or measures until it feels right. Don't keep repeating a whole song to get to the one or two parts that case trouble. Go right to them and work them out.

Getting this skill doesn't take very long, but it does take some effort and some concentration.

ReplyQuote
(@whitelightning)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I don't know many people who can sing ratm and play the guitar part ether, i can only do killing in the nam and knwo your enemy.

the most influential guitarist to my style is Tom Merello.

ReplyQuote
(@nathan080)
Estimable Member

Just go slower and slower until you get it right, then build up the speed. It is hard to do both complicated singing and playing at the same time... but it can be done, just have to practice practice practice. Zack De La Roche wasn't a singer anyway, just practice the phrasing, timing and delivery of the RATM lyrics and you should have it down...

FYI

From Your Influence...
http://www.overplay.com/BandProfile.aspx?BandId=e78b497f-4f31-4182-8659-e8b6fa91d582

http://www.youtube.com/user/FromYourInfluence

ReplyQuote
(@chris-c)
Famed Member

Hi,