Just Started Singing; Recorded a Song

12 Posts
11 Users
0 Likes
(@tldavis92)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Hi,

I have been playing guitar for about 6 months now, but I just started singing while playing guitar. I recorded "Scarborough Fair", and I was hoping that someone could provide some feedback. Any and all criticism would be great! Thanks guys. (Guitar criticism would be great as well.)

http://www.soundclick.com/TylerDavisTyGuy

(@nathan080)
Estimable Member

Hey there,
The guitar playing sounded very good, well done. And well done for recording yourself and giving the singing thing a go... its daunting I know! But the more you do it the easier it gets.

If I'm being completely honest I was a bit bored by your voice. It sounded like the sound was getting stuck in your throat as if you were using your regular speaking voice to sing.

When you use your voice in music you need to think of it as an instrument, and treat it as you would any other instrument. Think about how to get the best sound and try different things to and achieve this sound. If you use google to look for some singing basics it will give you a better idea of what goes on when we sing. If you have any specific questions I will try to help, but I'm still learning too :).

Keep singing though :D
FYI

From Your Influence...
http://www.overplay.com/BandProfile.aspx?BandId=e78b497f-4f31-4182-8659-e8b6fa91d582

http://www.youtube.com/user/FromYourInfluence

ReplyQuote
(@athnel)

Music sounds good, your best by a mile.

ReplyQuote
(@ethanpallas)