Clear all

My vocal ability thus far...

6 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@moresco)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

First, let me say this: Whether you love or hate me, know that I couldn't sing a single note when I started, you'd cry if you heard the demos from a couple of years ago.

I'll link you to some youtube videos, one of a cover and another of an original I guess. I really don't know how they sound, I'm not a professional vocalist in the sense that I've never had any lessons. When I compare myself to my idols in vocals (that would be Joey Eppard or Claudio Sanchez) I think that I definitely don't suck and I'm getting to where I can hold my own. I think that anyhow, but the opinions of others varies. Some think I'm amazing, others say I can surely sing but they don't like my voice (I mean, to me that says I'm failing in some area, but my wife insists people just have different tastes...that must be it). So again, opinions vary.

I've got two current problems, or things I wish to improve at. The first would be turns/runs - doing those wild things that add color to a line, I seem to be unable to do many of them. I think I've discovered that changing the shape of my mouth, or closing it on the way down a descending run, actually helps quite a bit. At least it seems to help with the separation of notes. Anyone have thoughts on this?

The second problem is timbre. For example, Claudio Sanchez has this extremely thin sound which, to me at least, seems to be very pleasant sounding. My sound seems to be a lot more rich, but this becomes a problem with the higher range. I like the warmth, but I'd like to get some more sparkle in the sound as well.

Whatever, here are some links to critique the vocals, if you would. The mic placement is different in these, I'm never quite sure where to have it - and here we'll have two videos with audio that I attempted to master a bit for better quality, while the others were before I discovered such a device existed.