ok.. so pointers on my singing?

10 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@hanbbae)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7kRQwp1I7Io
there is a lot of mistakes.. umm (first time singing and playing at the same time.. thankfully i heard this song a couple of times so i managed to push through it.. but it sucks.. everything is too fast.. and blah blah )
ive been playing guitar for about a year.. self taught.. i need vocal help. I want to become a better singer

(@kenneth-v)
Eminent Member

I don't think it sounds that awful for the first time! :)

I'm not a good singer either, but i know a few things that could help:

First of all, the more you sing, the stronger and more solid your voice will be, so practice practice practice!
You should also consider this:

it'll help more if you'd only sing (no guitar) and record that to see how well your voice is doing, a few times in the vid, it's hard to hear you sing cause your guitar oversounds your voice (which is pretty normal without a mic actually :P )

So if you want to only train your voice: no guitar
There's alot of exercices some others will point you at, but i'm not an expert (read: i probably suck way more at singing than you do :D )
And the most important thing: motivation: don't think you'd be the best singer in the world, be realistic and don't start to hope for some major singing achievement soon! It'll need alot of practice (like playing the guitar) but it'll be worth it!

What i'll also suggest: go to live performances and watch the band play/sing! You'll learn more than you think!
+ why don't you put a band together yourself with some friends? All you need is a drummer + a bass guitarist and you and you've got the basics of a real band! You don't need to do live performances, but you can play together and it sure will make your playing/singing alot better in time!

Hope i could help :)

Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, today is a gift, that is why we
call it the present!

ReplyQuote