Clear all

Some thoughts on my experience with singng

3 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@dennett340)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Hey fellas, I've been practicing singing in earnest for the past 5 months and this is what I have realized.

Click on the link below- this is a clip of the goo goo dolls, singing iris. pay attention to johnny singing the chorus- when he sings "when everything MEANT to be broken"- as much as it is obviously singing, it sounds to me like he's TALKING LOUD.
http://youtube.com/watch?v=jWC_Myk_oIE

The next link will show a clip of Freddie Mercury doing some crazy, incredible stuff. A big jaw dropper. Again, it sounds like he's talking loud. Like shouting.

http://youtube.com/watch?v=4FNoIDgNE6o

In the link below(you gotta click play for this one) you'll see bon jovi screaming his head off like there was no tomorrow singing "living on a prayer." It's probably true that, from that much screaming at the extremely high notes, he ended up damaging his vocal chords. When you see other clips of living on a prayer, he doesn't sing the high parts of the chorus.

http://blog.naver.com/cecil80?Redirect=Log&logNo=90004451166&vid=1000183872

Whether or not the way in which these guys sing is healthy for the vocal chords is not what I'm concerned with. Artists and athletes always run the risk of injury when they perform. That's a given. That's why they take care of themselves.

My point is, in order to develop a style akin to these kinds of rock vocalists who use a lot of POWER, it requires a rather intense training method. The thing is- when I was taking classical voice lessons, I was taught to never strain my voice to reach higher notes, for it would damage my vocal chords. However, as I get more and more into singing rock, I see how different the training process is. I get the feeling that in order to produce a powerful sound, especially in the higher register, I think of trying to talk loud.