Skip to content
Timbre Questions (b...

Notifications
Clear all

Timbre Questions (between voice and guitar)

12 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@huricane)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I am interested in what other singers do to overcome, or adapt, their voices to the timbre of the instruments they are singing with (or do you make Jimmy Page's protege put down the Gibson and pickup the Strat?). I am just beginning to get serious about singing and learning to play an instrument to support it. But I no longer trust my inner ear to help with the timbre issue.

Background - I looked around at a lot of guitars, and finally settled on an Ibanez acoustic that has a beautiful clear, cool, bright sound to it, which I just love.

I then start singing the songs that I am learning to play on the guitar. My family starts squealing like stuck pigs.

Now, I have been told many times by people who I have had occasion to sing with in choir settings (and I sorta trust their judgment) that I have a good singing voice. In addition, I have seen my voice on an oscilloscope, and have an extremely clean G3 wave form (physics classes in college are really that much fun).

I know I am singing in the right key and in my head the guitar tune and my voice are dead on (that wonderfully pleasant feeling you get when all is in harmony). It should sound really good. But the family is squealing.

They say put the guitar down and sing. I do. They all agree the voice is good (not opera stuff, but good).

They say play the guitar, but don't sing. I do. They agree the guitar playing is passable (we are talking just strumming basic chords here).

So I try to do both again. The family squealing starts again. So I am thinking.... well I am just not able to play a song and sing it at the same time. Except in my head I am hearing a beautiful sound. What the hell is going on? Am I truly tone deaf?