Clear all

My Old Johnson Underwent Surgery Tonight

19 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@ricochet)
Illustrious Member
Topic starter  

A few days ago I ordered some strings for my heavy metal guitar. A 10+ lb. nickel plated brass Johnson Tricone resonator. Plain steel .017 and .020", nickel plated steel wound .028, .038, .052 and .070". For Open D and Open G tunings, primarily for slide. Wouldn't tune 'em any higher. They'll work great on the lap steel, too. Wouldn't put 'em on a guitar with a little skinny neck, even in these slack key tunings. This is something I've been giving thought to for a couple of years, looking at the D'Addario string tension chart and figuring the heaviest gauges I'd feel safe with at the higher pitch each would be in in either Open D or Open G.

Now I've got my .017-.070" string set installed. So far my Johnson hasn't folded in half, the action didn't even rise noticeably, and the cones are holding up just fine.