Clear all

Sheryl Crow's "Home"

12 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@mogal)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

I am pretty new to slide, and there is a song, "Home" by Sheryl Crow that has a slide in it. I saw it on YouTube, so I know it is slide guitar. I am trying to figure out what he is doing - The song is in the key of G, but I don't know if I need to do open tuning to G on the top three strings (tune the high E down to D), or just play in standard tuning. I looked for tabs on this but can't find any. How do you know if you have to tune to open tuning or not on a song?

MoGal

(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

could you post the link. a visual or audio aid could help 'tell'.

was the slide part on guitar? electric? acoustic? or was it on dobro?

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=644552
http://www.soundclick.com/couleerockinvaders

ReplyQuote
(@mogal)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Here is a link to a You Tube video - the slide is guitar and a shot comes in after the first verse. There are lots of shots of this guy, especially near the end when he really goes off on it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ILL4uE1D4eM

I have tried to listen to the CD and figure it out, but it is so difficult and time-consuming. If someone can give me a clue - scale to use if in standard tuning, or if it is open, what the open strings are - some tab guidelines for the slide part. It is an awesome song! The main chord progression is G, Dm, Bb, C for the verse and chorus, and on the bridge - Bb, C, F, G, C Bb, Dsus4.

Thanks for any help!

MoGal

ReplyQuote
(@ricochet)
Illustrious Member