Clear all

Thinking Slide Already...

9 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@bmancv-60)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

I'm new to formal instruction but have been playing around with the guitar for many years, That said, I really want to learn in standard tuning but have been mightily drawn to two songs featuring slide - Mean Old World and Am I Wrong. I'm off the next two days and am pretty sure a slide is going to follow me home on one of them. From searching and reading the posts here, I see standard tune slide is the most difficult; my question is what affect do alternate tunings have on string life and the guitar itself if any? Without knowing what I was doing back then, my guitars stayed at a lower tuning (D from what I know now) because it was easier to follow along with albums and the musicians playing on them - but what affect does going back and forth have?

"...I don't know - but whasomever I do, its gots ta be FUNKY!"

(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member

i've found that i tend to break the thinner strings more often if i tune down and back up frequently. as for the guitar itself, i'm guessing the difference is negligible, but i have no evidence for it.

ReplyQuote
(@musenfreund)
Illustrious Member

Yes, if you tune up and down frequently, it will shorten string life a bit but shouldn't have any effect on the guitar at all. Just be sure you're not using alternate tunings on a guitar with a floating bridge.

Well we all shine on--like the moon and the stars and the sun.
-- John Lennon

ReplyQuote
(@ricochet)
Illustrious Member

I guess I don't change tunings frequently enough to notice any difference in string life.

"A cheerful heart is good medicine."

ReplyQuote
 yard
(@yard)