Notifications
Clear all

What kind of Guitar for slide playing?

3 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@cottongums)
Topic starter  

Hi all, I'm a slide beginner but want to learn how to play stuff from the Paris Texas album, am I right in thinking a 'resonator' would be a good choice? Also Is it best to have a flat neck guitar? I tried tinkering about on a Fender CD-60 acoustic and found it difficult to play as the neck is slightly curved.

(@s1120)
Prominent Member

Im by no means skilled at slide, but I do enjoy it very much, and I really need to work on it more.... that being said, Ive played slide on all my guitars. All work well, and play nicely. BUT... they all sound different. Resonator gives the more ragged blues sound. Awesome sound... but there are others. Flat top acoustic sounds nice... a little smoother sound. softer. Electric is a little more haunting. Eerie sounding a lot of the time. Ry Cooder used all three, but Im not sure on what albums/songs. I say learn on what you have, and go from there.

Paul B

ReplyQuote
(@llamaslider)

You'll find that neck flatness or arc can complicate slide playing depending on what kind of slide you have. The neck setup also has an effect. For slide only players, the neck setup will commonly have the strings with significant height above the frets, the idea being to keep the strings from touching the frets at all. Most lap player guitars are set up this way.