Skip to content
What's your favorit...

Notifications
Clear all

What's your favorite Open tuning for slide?

17 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@gchord)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

I've tried Open D and Open G,so far I like Open G the best.I think it it sounds more "narley" than Open D.I'm still a newbie when it comes to playing slide,which means I stink.But I found some help sites and plan on buying some books or dvd's so I can study and practice more.

(@ricochet)
Illustrious Member

My favorite's Open D. You can play plenty gnarly in either one. :lol:

A really gnarly feature of Open G is the fifth on the sixth string. Great for turnarounds to land on that low D. Keef messed up bad when he pulled that string off.

"A cheerful heart is good medicine."

ReplyQuote
(@steinar-gregertsen)
Honorable Member

For electric stuff I definitely prefer D (or E), but for acoustic work the G tuning can be cool with the low fifth interval (D) on the sixth string, especially when self accompanying. To my ears the D tuning has a somewhat 'darker' vibe to it,- someone (Ry Cooder?) once said that D was "downtown" while G was "uptown". 8)

Steinar

"Play to express, not to impress"
Website - YouTube

ReplyQuote
(@tinsmith)
Prominent Member

I'm a G fan.

D is next.

ReplyQuote
(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

open G GBD GBD. have been keeping this tuning for a year now. finding all sorts of cool stuff.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=644552
http://www.soundclick.com/couleerockinvaders

ReplyQuote
 Long
(@long)
Eminent Member

I like open D. I've been playing it for about half a year.

ReplyQuote
(@demoetc)
Noble Member

open G GBD GBD. have been keeping this tuning for a year now. finding all sorts of cool stuff.

Is that the one that's also called 'dobro tuning?'

ReplyQuote
(@rodders)
Noble Member

Got to be open G for me, I also can then use the same guitar for Stones tunes :wink:

Be excellent to each other & party on dudes!