New guy.. First submission

6 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@balruth)
Topic starter  

I bent the rules the little..

My song is Tears Don't Stop the Pain..

I'm a novice and really have no clue when it comes to a decent recording, so apologies..

Song needs some ironing out with a little phrasing, but I'm happy with the start.

https://soundcloud.com/balruth-1/tears-dont-stop-the-pain

Thanks for listening and any feedback.. Hoping I will start to have some time to participate somewhat regularly and not just lurk every month or so.

(@jamestoffee)
Famed Member

Hi Balruth,

Welcome to SSG :D

The first post is the hardest, so it will get a lot easier from here on ;)

I really like your voice. I think it lends itself to be able to sing a wide range of styles.

One thing you could do to help the listeners is to post the lyrics.

Regarding this song, my interest was most peaked around 1:35 with the lines of "wasting 8 years....never got to start your family"

Consider using this as the starting point to set up what the song is about and answering the 5 Ws (Who what where when why....and how)

Also consider choosing one point of view. Is the song about the singer's lament, or consoling the singee? While it's valid both could equally be hurt, choosing one to focus on with help clarify the message/story.

Thanks for sharing :D

James

ReplyQuote
(@hobson)
Noble Member

Welcome, Balruth. James pretty much hit the important points. I like the song. The music fits the story. I'd like to see the lyrics too. It's much easier to pick them apart when they're in writing. :wink:

Renee

ReplyQuote
(@balruth)
Topic starter  

Sorry for not including lyrics. I have a keyboard now, so that will be much less tedious for me.