Notifications
Clear all

SSG 6 / SCW 1 - Who and Why?

34 Posts
33 Users
0 Likes
(@davidhodge)
Topic starter  

Since we're all going to be hanging around discussing songwriting, it certainly helps to know who you're talking with. So consider this a mini "Meet and Greet" for the SSG and SCW forums.

I'm David and I've been writing songs pretty much since I started playing guitar. It's funny (and probably very typical) that even though I'd played other instruments before taking up the guitar, I didn't get the bug about writing until having a guitar regularly in hand. Even during periods of my life when I wasn't playing guitar all that much, I still wrote songs.

My songwriting, like my playing, has evolved over the past (way too many) years - going from the stereotypical "all thirty-two verses of this song are essential and not a single word can be changed" to very minimalist lyrics. And I like to try all different styles of music, not to mention reworking old songs in different formats.

I write music to be played - not only by myself but also by others. Nothing thrills me more than to hear that someone is performing one of my songs in his or her repertoire. It's very cool to find out that something you wrote ages ago is still moving someone enough to play it and share it with others. And it's also important to me that my songs can be arranged for almost any type of setting, from the single singer/songwriter to a fifteen piece jam band.

My reason for initially taking part in these forums was to try to get more disciplined and varied in my writing. Thanks to Bob, Nick and Ryan, I've written some of my best stuff for these assignments and even when I didn't get a complete song, I often came up with ideas and germs of ideas that have panned out later in time. Being disciplined enough to make writing an everyday event is why I'm still here.

Be seeing you on the boards.

Peace

(@pearlthekat)
Noble Member

Hi David. I know you!