Notifications
Clear all

Y8 Week 43- Throne Thrown Away

6 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@daemontears)
Topic starter  

I'm new to this, but I'm glad to be here and sharing with y'all. I hope y'all like my song.

A man waits to take their toll
All alone his heart's run cold
And with each and every single lie
He'll absolutely bleed them dry

Chorus:
The King who threw away his crown
And quickly felt the hate and dread
The day will come when he will drown
Beneath an ocean colored red

Surrendered all for gold and riches
You threw away your dreams and wishes
I think you'll find it at the end
What the truth will finally rend
In twain you'll find your mind and heart
And see your kingdom fall apart

Chorus

What a tangled web of words he weaves
With his lies what will he leave?
A broken heart, a broken man
Accursed be that heartless hand
That took so many lives of men
A creature filled with only sin

I hope you enjoyed reading as much as I did writing. Feel free to critique, as well as making your guess of the original song. Thank you!

(@jamestoffee)
Famed Member

Hi Daemontears,

I can't say I can figure what song it's from by the lyrics alone.

The closest I can come up with as far as the message in the lyrics is "Greed" is being personified as a being that leads mortals astray or to their doom. So the one with the kingdom sought riches instead of nobler life pursuits and is another victim of "Greed"

"A man waits to take their toll"

I could use clarification here. Is it meaning a man/person is collecting a toll/fee from some kind of travelers (their)? Like the ferryman across the river Styx?

Suggestion: Consider having the title of the song appear in the song either as a first or last line of the verses or as a hook in the chorus. Also, keep in mind how songs are sung more than read...so "Throne Thrown Away"....to the listener will probably come across as "Throne Throne Away" or "Thrown Thrown Away"....but I did like the play on words as I was reading it BTW :D