Skip to content
Getting started wit...

Notifications
Clear all

Getting started with the electric guitar, equipment,etc.

4 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@barbiesteel)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Hello there,

Not long ago I started playing the electric guitar. :D It is coming easy, since I played the acoustic guitar for many years before, but many other things appears into the picture. :? Like, what kind of guitar to get, with or without tremolo, what kind of pick-ups, what kind of amplifier, what accesories to get (footswitch, efects on pedals, wah) and other accesories to help the practice and the performing.
I have soooo many questions...I better start now.
I hope there is somebody on the other side willing to share his/her experience.
I have seen that, to practice at home, it is enough with a 5-8-10 or 15 watt amplifier. Could I plug a footswitch to it to change from chanel to chanel?, could I plug a JM4 from the Line 6 to it and use all its functionalities?

I am learning on my own, would the JM4 help me if I want to practice soloing?, or is there a cheaper solution to it?
My guitar is not an expensive guitar, would the sound improve if I change the pick-ups, for instance? or its just not worth it, and I should better buy another guitar?
What is it better, to use the distortion that comes on a big amplifier, or buying a pedal, and get your efects on the floor?

Thanks,
Gab

(@blue-jay)
Noble Member

Oh wow Gab, lots of questions. That's a few at one time, so I need to see them above or forget.

You may like a guitar without or without the tremolo. Depends if you will use it. I like the Tele and the Strat as simple, reliable, workhorse guitars, but the bridge on the Strat is way more complex than it looks, and it has been that way for 55 years.