Notifications
Clear all

Guitar Straps for women

9 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@dstille8)
Topic starter  

I'm a beginning female guitarist. So happy to find this forum section dedicated to the ladies! Anyway, just wondering what guitar straps you use. What do you look for in a good strap? I find I'm more into the look and design of the strap more so than function/comfort. Yes, so vain! There also seems to be a range in price... $10-$100. Anything I should look for in particular when purchasing one?

(@notes_norton)
Noble Member

I'm not female so I didn't vote and I can't speak for the female guitarist in our duo. However I believe she feels the same way that I do about it.

1) Function - it has to be strong, and not slip off the guitar too easily

2) Comfort - we both like 3" wide fabric straps - the shoulder likes that - and if it is comfortable, it allows the musician to play better

3) Looks - after the first two requirements are met, we go for looks. My partner prefers the guitar strap to blend into her outfit, and she usually wears black on stage, so the guitar strap is black. I like them to be seen, but I'm not all that picky. One guitar has a 'loud' strap, and the guitar I use most is black (when it wears out I'll get something more colorful).

Notes

Bob "Notes" Norton

Owner, Norton Music http://www.nortonmusic.com Add-on Styles for Band-in-a-Box and Microsoft SongSmith

The Sophisticats http://www.s-cats.com >^. .^< >^. .^<

ReplyQuote
(@s1120)
Prominent Member

OK so not female also... but figure what the heck...