Clear all

Am I crazy?

21 Posts
13 Users
0 Likes
(@ejwebb)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Well. I started playing guitar about 8 months ago - just before my 40th birthday. For several weeks, I rented a nice Blueridge acoustic and started taking lessons. Then I rented Squier Strat, too, and played around with it for a while. A few months in I decided that electric was best for me since that is the music I listen to most - and it was easier to play - and a friend of mine plays electric some, etc. I bought a nice Ibanez AS73 and a Vox AD15VT and continued with my lessons.

I just could not shake the allure of the acoustic guitar - and, as fate would have it, a Johnson acoustic turned up on Cragislist about a month ago. How could I go wrong with a $20 guitar? Everybody needs one to take camping, etc. assuming it wil play decently. This one had a decent sound but really high action. I sanded the saddle down as low as I dared and made a few truss rod adjustments. Between these tweaks and getting some moisture back into the wood in my basement, this guitar is decently playable - especially up in open chord land.

PRoblem is, I find myself enjoying this beater more than my electric at the moment. I have continued working on ope chords and some finger picking and feel like I am really learning more and having more fun playing it.

The sound is just so much more organic - and I can feel it as I play. The chords just ring and finger picking notes sound so musical. Now when I play the electric I just can't seem to find a tone I like - even on the cleanest settings.

Now I am on a quest for a better acoustic guitar and feel like this is really the right path for me. But I don't want to give up the electric either. I just feel like I need to focus on one or the other and seem to keep going back and forth.

Am I crazy or is this normal behavior?

(@trguitar)
Famed Member