Back at it

17 Posts
11 Users
0 Likes
(@urbancowgirl)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

Hi everyone,

It has been a while since I've been active on here or, worse yet, since I have had any time for the guitar. I have had an interesting year.
I had started taking some lessons from a small local music shop but the shop closed and my teacher took off without telling me they were leaving or reimbursing me for the lessons I had pre-paid for. :? Then I got pregnant and pretty much felt too sick to do anything the first three months, so I put off finding a new teacher. I worked all the way through my pregnancy so by the time I got home at night I was too tired to really do anything that required any thought or work. After Janie was born things got even crazier trying to learn all this parenting stuff. I am a total noob. :wink: My husband gets frequent severe migraines so most times he really can't be much help to me with the housework or watching the baby.

I now work full time, am taking night classes from the university two nights a week and, of course, am taking care of my new daughter but I really miss my guitar time. I find it very relaxing working through a song or even just practicing chords or scales and it's a great feeling to learn a song and actually be able to play it. Janie is sleeping through the night now and going to bed early enough that I can start setting some time aside to practice again. I feel like I have taken a giant slide backwards and have to start over.

So my questions to all you players and teachers are these:

I need structure or I get sidetracked and don't accomplish much. What would be a good practice schedule for say a half hour to an hour a day? chords? scales? learning a song by tab? Or maybe alternate each thing? All I can do is read tabs but I would eventually like to be able to read music as well. Right now I would just like to feel like I am making some sort of progress.