Notifications
Clear all

Hopeless

20 Posts
18 Users
0 Likes
(@imoshi)
Topic starter  

I am a horrible guitar play, so horrible.. its depressing me. Right; I started guitar a few weeks ago, I'm a music lover so I know all the terms and how to play basic guitar; also. I can play simple recognizable song lines (ie: smoke on the water 035036503530 and feel good inc) but whenever i try to play a chord I screw it up; I mean.. seriously; em = fingers touch other fingers and strings, curl together.. its horrible and I really need to know what I can do to improve.

(@frank2121)
Reputable Member

your only doing what everyone else did dont worry your on the right road

ReplyQuote
(@imoshi)
Topic starter  

I feel it is difficult to improve when I have a problem and do not know how to fix it/what I am doing wrong..

ReplyQuote
(@sticky)
Trusted Member

hey hey!
I'm a newb myself but chords get easier with practice. If you're muting strings unintentionally you may need a different angle or to stagger your fingers on the fretboard to make them fit. When you get buzzing or muffling hit each string in the chord(that's an arpeggio right?) to find the problem area.
I started guitar a few weeks ago

come-on dude, a few weeks? Guitar is going to take alot of time....if it was easy everyone would do it.

How do you know if a drummer is knocking on your door.....

The knocking speeds up.

ReplyQuote
 geoo
(@geoo)
Famed Member

I feel it is difficult to improve when I have a problem and do not know how to fix it/what I am doing wrong..

Hey buddy. Almost two year ago I was exactly like you. Strings buzzed, my stupid fingers wouldnt move, it did NOT sound like music. But there is no magic answer. You have to slow down and work on making the chord, then make the next.. Play your chords very slowly until they sound right. I would even put my fingers where I thought they needed to go and then pick each string to find out where the buzz was coming from so I could fix my hand position.