Notifications
Clear all

I Break a lot of Picks!

16 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
(@jimmyjazz)
Topic starter  

I've been playing for a few months now, enjoying it tremendously. I prefer thin picks, but I'm really breaking them like crazy, cracking one side about 1/4 of the way up from the tip. I've been using Fender Premium Celluloid. It's not the end of the world, but I suspect one's not supposed to blow through them as quickly as I am, and think it may be indicative of doing something wrong. Any thoughts? Thanks.

(@ricochet)
Illustrious Member

Try holding 'em closer to the tip, and not so tightly.

"A cheerful heart is good medicine."

ReplyQuote
(@dan-t)
Illustrious Member

Why not try a different brand? I use Dunlop Nylon .60mm picks, and they are thin, but don't break. Jim Dunlop USA Nylon

I've also heard some good things about the Jim Dunlop Ultex pics, but haven't had a chance to try them out yet. They come in .60mm also, and claim to be "indestructible". Ultex Pics

Dan

"The only way I know that guarantees no mistakes is not to play and that's simply not an option". David Hodge

ReplyQuote
(@manda)
Eminent Member

I remember the one thing that helped me with this - concentrate on keeping your picking hand relaxed. I switched to thick, stiff picks too though. Ya never know, it could really help

"These pretzels are makin' me thirsty."

ReplyQuote
(@nexion)
Honorable Member

Try holding the pick like this:

So that you are using the rounded edge instead of the pointed edge.

"That’s what takes place when a song is written: You see something that isn’t there. Then you use your instrument to find it."
- John Frusciante

ReplyQuote
(@jimmyjazz)
Topic starter  

Thank you all & Happy New Year. I'm sure this all will come in handy!

ReplyQuote
(@coloradofenderbender)
Noble Member

I used to use a really thin pick, then I moved up to a slightly thicker (but not too much) pick.

I also hold my pick as Nexion showed, which slowed down the breaking of picks. 8)