need some tips to leran to play decent-sounding power chords

30 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
(@matteo)
Honorable Member
Topic starter  

Hello all

I've been playing for a couple of years or so, even if it is just a bit more than one year that I know what i'm doing on guitar :D

I have to say that after some hard work (including some metronome sessions in the last couple of months), I'm pretty satisfied in a few things like:

a) playing all kind of strumming patterns (eight and sixteen notes, syncopated ones, also some 3/4 and 6/8) and most important recognize them in the songs I listen to;
b) playing some basic arpeggios;
c) playing clear open chords (of course I have to better but I've finally start to play some clean G7 chord!);
d) improving barre chords (i'm a lot better with sixth string ones but i'm also slowly learning fifth string ones)
5) finally starting to get the grasp of palm muting and left hand chocking
6) thanks to david hodge's wonderful lessons, playing a few simple bass-lines

what I'm really missing is the ability of playing some decent power chords! I know where power chords are on the neck but when I try to play them they sound poor expecially if they're on the 5th string. I Know that I did not dedicate them so much time (compared i.e. to strummin patterns or even to barre or arpeggios) but still my inabilty it gets me quite nervous because it is severly limiting my playing. I mean I perfectly know how to play i.e. Billy'Idols "Rebel yell" (rhytmically wise) but of course using a mix of open chords and barre ones it does not have a decent sound (and also the chord changes are a lot more difficult) and the same goes for a lot of other rock and metal songs (you know where I'm coming from :D ). Maybe it depends on the fact that I'm using a classic guitar and power chords are meant to be played on eletric who knows, but I would like some tips to learn to play them decently: otherwise I'll be condemned to play just slow songs :D