Notifications
Clear all

strat pickup alignment

18 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@jookbox)
Topic starter  

hello, love the site! i started working for a major music retailer. i'm a drummer, but with my employee discount i think it will be worthwhile to get a nice guitar. i've never owned a guitar but played enough to know barre chords and stuff.

i decided i wanted a strat and was wondering why the pickup near the bridge is crooked. it was always sometihng in the back of my mind. i know it has to do with sound, but it's interesting that its always at that same angle, no matter what strat. (except for the humbucker ones)

(@jtb226)
Estimable Member

i honestly don't really know. might be cosmetic? also could have something to do with wiring or polarity or something? i've always kind of wondered the same thing. can you imagine what a strat would look like if all three pickups were straight? it'd look weird

"Heavy decibels are playing on my guitar
We got vibrations comin' up from the floor
We're just listenin' to the rock
That's givin' too much noise....
Rock and roll ain't noise pollution"
~AC/DC

ReplyQuote
(@doug_c)
Reputable Member

hello, love the site! i started working for a major music retailer. i'm a drummer, but with my employee discount i think it will be worthwhile to get a nice guitar. i've never owned a guitar but played enough to know barre chords and stuff.That's pretty good. I own several guitars, and I don't know a dang thang about barre chords. :lol:
Welcome to GuitarNoise, anyway.
i decided i wanted a strat and was wondering why the pickup near the bridge is crooked. it was always sometihng in the back of my mind. i know it has to do with sound, but it's interesting that its always at that same angle, no matter what strat. (except for the humbucker ones)Telecasters are made the same way, and maybe some other styles, too. It has to do with harmonics changing as the string is picked closer to or further away from the bridge.