Clear all

Wammy Bar

18 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
(@oliver-85)
Topic starter  

Hello,

I have recently bought a squire strat, im only a beginner and cant afford to spend hundreds on a fender strat, I wish.......
Can I play this guitar with the wammy bar removed, it keeps on moving and someone suggested putting a spring inside to keep it in place. I just want to lean the basics first, will it affect it in anyway without the wammy bar?

Thanks

oliver

(@vic-lewis-vl)
Illustrious Member

When I decided to learn to play properly (finally!) about six years ago - after umpteen years of messing around with half-a-dozen chords - I decided to get a decent guitar to learn on. Did a bit of research, checked the budget, went for a Squier Strat. Nice guitars, IMHO - but, like you, I didn't like the whammy bar. So I took it off.

As long as your guitar's tuned properly, and you don't press down too hard on the bridge (for example, when palm-muting) you shouldn't have any problems.

:D :D :D

Vic

"Sometimes the beauty of music can help us all find strength to deal with all the curves life can throw us." (D. Hodge.)

ReplyQuote
(@scrybe)
Famed Member

When I decided to learn to play properly (finally!) about six years ago - after umpteen years of messing around with half-a-dozen chords - I decided to get a decent guitar to learn on. Did a bit of research, checked the budget, went for a Squier Strat. Nice guitars, IMHO - but, like you, I didn't like the whammy bar. So I took it off.

As long as your guitar's tuned properly, and you don't press down too hard on the bridge (for example, when palm-muting) you shouldn't have any problems.

:D :D :D

Vic