Notifications
Clear all

when to start lessons

22 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
(@drew_herbick)
Topic starter  

i am new to the guitar world and need to know if i should try to practice on my own or begin taking lessons to avoid learning bad habits . unfortunatly i am not a fast learner when i have to do two things at once so it may take me a while to learn chord chnges, how to read tabs, sheet music ect. i started out with the Ibanez jampak or the other ibanez pack but i am playing an Ibanez gio as my first guitar and dont want to have to spend hundreds on one on one lessons if more experianced players think it is worth the time to try and learn the basics on my own even if i end up with a few bad habits please help guys i lov emusic and want to learn to play rock/hardcore/metalcore thanks!

Nils
(@nils)
Famed Member

If you have the money to take a few lessons go ahead and take them. It is best to get the "basics" like fretting and strumming correct since they are the building blocks for everything else. Once you get a few fundamental chords down then picking up new chords becomes a lot easier. After the basics are down the most important things you get out of a teacher is theory and reading notation plus the feedback on what you may be teaching yourself, learning here, and songs you are trying to learn.

If not then try to get the basics the best you can and try to find someone to critique you. Try to do your best to get with someone else that can help you. Nothing in the world is better than having someone watch what you are doing and provide feedback. Even posting videos here would help.

Either way the MOST important part of learning is practicing. Get yourself disciplined to practice as much as you possibly can.

In the mean time get as much out of this forum as you can and don't forget the beginners lessons on the home page.

Welcome to GN.

Nils' Page - Guitar Information and other Stuff
DMusic Samples

ReplyQuote
(@musenfreund)
Illustrious Member