Clear all

Young guitar player being curious.

22 Posts
15 Users
0 Likes
 mewo
(@mewo)
Topic starter  

Greetings to you all, I'm 14 and I started guitar in the summer. I've been playing for 2 months and I am happy with my progress. I have an acoustic/electric guitar made by Yamaha and I taught myself with Hal Leonard's Guitar Methods(I just realized Hal Leonard wrote the trumpet book I use too o_O). Anyways I have a few questions.

1. Pick or nails?

2. If nails, how would I go about using nails? Do I grow my nail long enough or use my thumb/nail?

3. I plan to get a small amp for my acoustic/electric guitar when I feel like I am worthy. What amps are good? What's a pickup?

Thanks in advance for your time.

(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member

I only use my nails when playing fingerstyle and even then not all the time but only when accenting certain notes.
Other than that I use a pick.
I keep my nails on my picking hand even with the tips of my fingers.
My fretting hand I keep them short.

ReplyQuote
 mewo
(@mewo)
Topic starter  

Oh ic. Is it possible to strum with nails? Is it a good idea? Normally I use a pick.

ReplyQuote
(@pappajohn)
Honorable Member

Welcome to GN.

When I fingerpick, I use the tips of my fingers. I prefer the 'softer' sound, and I keep my nails pretty short. Also (when fingerpicking) I'll strum with the tip of my finger, usually the middle finger.

That, of course, doesn't exclude playing / strumming with a pick.

-- John

"Hip woman walking on a moving floor, tripping on the escalator.
There's a man in the line and she's blowin' his mind, thinking that he's already made her."

'Coming into Los Angeles' - Arlo Guthrie

ReplyQuote
(@maxrumble)
Honorable Member

Man its all about the sound. I pick with a pick, my thumb, my nails, and I have even used a dime, depending on my mood and/or the song. One fellow in the other forum cut his gums using his teeth to play. I wouldn't recommend that but anything else is cool.