Advice on learning to read music...

27 Posts
14 Users
0 Likes
(@jminor)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

G'day,

I've been playing guitar for a couple of years and want to learn to read standard notation.
I know this will be a very long process, but I want to do it as efficiently as possible. I really feel like i'm missing a HUGE piece of the puzzle by not knowing how to read properly....

Actually I understand the notes of the treble/bass clef and how melody and rhythm are notated, but i feel like a child in preschool struggling to read a Dr. Suess book. I CAN work it out but it takes me hours and hours for a single 16 measure piece.

I have good foundation in the "basics" of music theory.. ie. scales (major, natural minor, melodic minor, harmonic minor major/minor pentatonic, blues) Although all of these scales may not be entirely "under my fingers" across the WHOLE fretboard (although this is improving almost daily with regular practice), I feel confident in knowing their construction and how they all relate to the major scale... I also have a good grasp of chord construction, chord progressions, inversions, some harmony and counterpoint..etc.

I want to practice on VERY basic pieces (i.e nursery rhymes, simple vocal melodies, etc.), then progressively move on to more complex music. ...Although i consider myself a quick learner, I want to do this the right way... like i said, i feel like a 5 year old at school... i want to practice Dr. Suess before i start reading Roald Dahl, then eventually move on to the greats... Make sense ?? i hope so.

Does anyone know of any online excercies or GOOD books specifically written to learn standard notation/site reading for guitar...? Learning more music theory is not that important to me at the moment because my reading is lacking so badly i need to play catch up.