18 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
13.9 K Views
(@viktal)
Topic starter  

so..
im new to this music thing :) and im wondering:
the strumming pattern is three strokes down and one quick up? and the upstroke is muted? what is muted and how do you do it?
please help me.. :)

https://www.guitarnoise.com/article.php?id=394

(@musenfreund)
Illustrious Member

Welcome to the asylum for the musically insane.

How to mute? Release the pressure on the strings with your fretting hand and lightly rest the edge of your palm on the strings by the bridge. That should do the trick.

Well we all shine on--like the moon and the stars and the sun.
-- John Lennon

ReplyQuote
(@musenfreund)
Illustrious Member

I'm adding the comments from the duplicate thread here:
PostPosted: 31 Mar 2005 13:52 Post subject: Hurt... Reply with quote Edit/Delete this post Delete this post View IP address of poster
Hey Dave, I was wondering if you could clear something up for me. I'm learning "Hurt", by Trent Reznor (J. Cash's cover) and following your lesson, which is wonderful, but in the beginning, you say the verse chord progression is Amin to C and then to Dsus2 but later in the lesson the order is C to Dsus2 to Amin (which sounds correct).

Could you clear that up?

Thanks!

Julius
Smile
art&lutherie

PostPosted: 31 Mar 2005 17:04 Post subject: Reply with quote Edit/Delete this post Delete this post View IP address of poster
The progression is still Am C Dsus that first Am before the lyrics is still lingering when you start the I hurt myself today part. The Am is 1/2 a measure before the C and Dsus are 1/4 each.

The Tragically Hip
geetar66

PostPosted: 31 Mar 2005 18:42 Post subject: Reply with quote Edit/Delete this post Delete this post View IP address of poster
Thanks Art!
art&lutherie

PostPosted: 14 Apr 2005 10:53 Post subject: Reply with quote Edit/Delete this post Delete this post View IP address of poster