Time for my 6 month...

Notifications
Clear all

Time for my 6 month whine...

25 Posts
21 Users
0 Likes
(@Anonymous)

I was really hoping to avoid this but I just don't feel like I have been playing for almost 6 months. I still can't hit open chord cleanly, my string skipping is TERRIBLE, my fingers are always slipping off the strings, and I really don't know any full songs.

Yes I have been concentrating on blues techniques but even with that I can only play a few short licks and some basic strumming patterns. Being a teacher I know that we all learn at our own pace but I also know that there are learning milestones we all achieve at certain points in our lives. Guitar HAS to have some milestones that should be achieved at certain time intervals? I don't mean a number of songs learned or number of chords memorized. I mean should I be able to fret open chords cleanly 99% of the time at 6 months? Are there certain skills that are MANDITORY for a player at the 6 month interval? Should hammer-on's/pull-offs be somewhat mastered by now?

I know I am rehashing this but I just guess I am in one of my ruts. I'll be honest it's been a while since I have been in a rut that frustrated me so I guess I should be glad. Maybe it's just the Christmas Blues getting to me...I don't know? I just needed to vent my frustration...

Thanks

Mike
(@mike)
Famed Member

We all need to vent sometimes, don't worry about it.

Where should you be?

It's not how long you've been playing, it's how much time you practice.

You've always sounded like a person that puts too much on their plate. Slow it back down. How much time have you spent on open chords? I know I use to do them for at least an hour or two on the weekends (only get @ an hour weekdays to practice). It will all come with time. Work on one thing at a time until you are happy with it and remember to keep it in your practice routine.