Greetings from the Hudson Valley!

16 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
(@ririzarry)
Eminent Member
Topic starter

Hello everyone:

I'm a beginning guitarist - returning to the instrument after a failed attempt back in my early 20's. Now in my late 30's, I'm excited to have picked it up again. As far as musical tastes, I enjoy blues, rock and gypsy jazz listening to players such as SRV, Joe Bonamassa, Gary Moore and Stochelo Rosenberg. Right now, my musical focus is on blues. As far as guitars, I own an Applause roundback acoustic and a Hohner G2T headless electric guitar. I spend most of my time on the Hohner.

I'm also a sufferer of repetitive strain injury or RSI - the most common form being carpal tunnel syndrome. My particular problem is Dequervain's which is a form of tendonitis in the right hand thumb area. This is a result of years of working in information technology.

This injury, as well as years of chronic back pain, has led me to an interest in the subject of ergonomic instrument design. As a result, I've embarked on building an ergonomic guitar. (see my sig for a link to the blog). It's been an exciting process and I'm hoping to complete my first guitar build very soon.

Finally, I'm looking forward to participating on the forum and learning from fellow guitarists.

Rob

Building the Ergonomic Guitar

Guitar Designs. Ergonomics. Guitar Making.

Posted : 30/10/2006 2:00 pm
(@dan-t)
Illustrious Member

Welcome to GN Rob! Interesting guitar designs. 8)

Dan

"The only way I know that guarantees no mistakes is not to play and that's simply not an option". David Hodge

Posted : 30/10/2006 2:18 pm
(@misanthrope)
Noble Member

Welcome!