Clear all

My first time

25 Posts
13 Users
0 Likes
(@iraesq)
Trusted Member
Topic starter

Hope this is the right forum to use. I wanted to share my first "performance" experience with people who can appreciate the feelings I had.

I've been playing for about 10 months, doing most of it on my own. I think I've progressed pretty well and I really enjoy it. However, I have not "performed" for anyone and mostly just the family has heard me play.

We went to a Halloween party on Saturday night that featured a small two-piece band. There were about 60 party-goers in attendance. As the night wore on (and everyone, including me, had a few more drinks in them), the party's host joined the band to play drums on a song. Some of my friends started poking me to get up and play with the band (with the band extending an invite to me). Considering that (a) I've never played before an audience like this, (b) I had quite a bit to drink, (c) I didn't know the song they were playing, and (d) I was absolutely petrified, I politely declined and endured some freindly ribbing. Then my wife hit me with a devastating comment, "At least you talk a good game." Well, I am not a "talk a good game" guy. Never have been.

As I stewed on it for a few minutes, the band started playing "Blister In The Sun," a song I can play well and a song that is a lot of fun. My wife, who has heard me playing this tune to death, gave me a look. That was it. The next thing I knew, I had their spare guitar in hand and was playing in front of that audience. I'm pretty sure I did a decent job. At least my friends were polite enough to tell me so. :D