Clear all

Harmony Central Reviews... take with a grain of salt

17 Posts
13 Users
0 Likes
(@the-dali)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

I was reading one of the posts in the beginner's section about Epiphones and the reviews on Harmony Central, and I thought I'd make a random post about Harmony Central.

I've been playing guitar for 2 years, building and re-building from scratch or existing full guitars the entire time, so I have many reasons to log on to HC from time to time to check stuff out. I've probably had 20 guitars go through my hands in those 2+ years, and probably just as many pickup sets, tuners, etc...

I have no idea what use the HC "user reviews" are for... For every "10 - great value!" I see "what a hunk of junk..."

We've talked about it on these boards a lot, the VALUE of the instrument versus the COST of the instrument versus the true QUALITY of the instrument.

As you may know, I just bought an SX strat copy to customize - based mainly on the information from a friend and the positive posts found here - and went out to HC to look at the review just before I pulled the trigger. Man, what a waste of time. There were like 36 reviews posted about the SST52 and at least 10 stated that the SX was the best sounding strat they have ever heard. The BEST! Many stated that it was "better than an American strat" while just as many stated that "the quality was good, not quite as good as a MIM, but better than Squier". Holy crap! How is anyone supposed to make an intelligent decision with such conflicting reviews!!!?!?

I am at the point that I only read the reviews with sub-6 scores. If I see a "10" I sail right on past. I want the REAL information about the instrument.

On the same vein, the reviews in most guitar magazines are also a joke. Nothing REAL.

Anyway... that's my story. :evil:

-=- Steve

"If the moon were made of ribs, would you eat it?"

(@twistedlefty)
Famed Member

i'm in agreement, anything rated 10 on a scale of 1-10 is suspect.