Notifications
Clear all

Difference between bass amp and acoustic guitar amp

5 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@bmizell)
Topic starter  

I am buying an acoustic bass guitar, the question I have is can I use my acoustic guitar amp with it or do I need to buy a Bass amp.
Thanks
bmizell

bmizell

(@vic-lewis-vl)
Illustrious Member

I think the bass amp would be better - I don't think the acoustic guitar amp would work as anything more than a very short-term fix. It wouldn't handle the much lower frequencies over any length of time.

I'm no expert, but there are a few here or hereabouts and I'm guessing they'll say the same.

:D :D :D

Vic

"Sometimes the beauty of music can help us all find strength to deal with all the curves life can throw us." (D. Hodge.)

ReplyQuote
(@slejhamer)
Famed Member

Not sure about the acoustic amp, but I think a keyboard amp or small powered PA would work well for both.

"Everybody got to elevate from the norm."

ReplyQuote
(@demoetc)
Noble Member

The acoustic guitar amps I've seen and read about usually are closed back (for better bass response), with a tweeter. When I compared it to my little Fender Bassman 100, it's basically a closed back amp with a tweeter. I think the acoustic amps have more tone and feedback control knobs, but...they're basicaly the same. My Fender has a 10" driver and puts out quite a bit of bass, but when I turn on the tweeter (which I normally don't because I like the thuddy sound), it gets pretty bright.

I'm thinking if your acoustic guitar amp is similar, then it could be a good stand in until you get another amp for bass. Maybe turn the tweeter down or off if you can and go from there.

Best regards.

ReplyQuote
(@kalle_in_sweden)
Prominent Member